When officially opened in September 1947, the New South Wales Government Railways claimed it was the “largest roundhouse in the southern hemisphere”.
The Junee Roundhouse, or loco, as it was called, was the last steam depot built in NSW and as such was the pinnacle of steam depot development in the state. Steam soon gave way to diesel power and Junee loco was accordingly modified and steam facilities removed.
The main feature, the roundhouse, remains. Centred around the unique 100 foot (33 metre) turntable are two sheds and 42 tracks including the high-roads and machine shop. Today the roundhouse is home to Junee Railway Workshop, a local company that maintains and repairs rolling stock and locomotives for hire and for other operators. Other parts of the roundhouse are occupied by Regional Heritage Transport Association Junee – Inc. who operate a museum dedicated to local railway history on the site.