Light Pass

Locality

Surrounded by lush vineyards on the flats east of Nuriootpa, the hamlet of Light Pass has some of the most authentic buildings remaining in the region.

The mud and straw schoolhouse built in 1846 still stands; along with a group of wattle and daub farm buildings and thatched-roofed barns dating from the 1860s.

In the centre of the settlement is Luhrs Cottage, an original German settler’s home built in 1848 for the town’s first Lutheran schoolteacher. The cottage has been painstakingly restored as a local museum and is open to the public seven days a week.

A regular and popular event on the Barossa Calendar is Sunday Funday at Gibson Wines, a short drive from the main street on Willows Road. Be entertained by live music that will get your feet tapping, play petanque, or lounge around and enjoy the atmosphere. Scrumptious Barossa platters are available to complement Gibson wine. Call the Barossa Visitor Information Centre to check dates.

Nearby Accommodation

View All
Lanzerac entrance & barn

Lanzerac Country Estate

Tanunda, Barossa

Angaston Rose

Angaston Rose B&B

Angaston, Barossa

Barossa Gateway Motel

Barossa Gateway Motel

Nuriootpa, Barossa

Nearby Things to Do

View All
cheese, Barossa Valley

Barossa Valley Cheese Company

Angaston, Barossa

Customers shopping

The Co-op Shopping Centre

Nuriootpa, Barossa

Tour vehicles of the Barossa Valley

Barossa Experience Tours

Tanunda, Barossa