Australian Series: Reclaiming the Night

Concert or Performance

18 Nov 2021 Once Only Event


Nat Bartsch
Into the Light

Leanne Bear
Nôtre Gothique

Deborah Chetham AO
Insieme – Yapeneyepuk – Together

Brenda Gifford
World premiere, Plexus commission

Sally Greenway

In this closing concert of the 2021 Australian Series, the CSO welcome guest ensemble Plexus. Driven by Monica Curro (violin), Philip Arkinstall (clarinet) and Stefan Cassomenos (piano), Plexus collaborates with Australian and international filmmakers, actors, directors, poets, choirs and visual artists as well as guest instrumentalists and vocalists.

The program opens with Into the Light by Nat Bartsch, brimming with all the anticipation of a joyful departure into the unknown.

From there, Leanne Bear bids us recall, almost violently, the image of Notre Dame ablaze.

Series curator Deborah Cheetham offers one of her own works, Insieme – Yapeneyepuk – Together, which asks the question: What will it take to bring us together?

The program closes with Sally Greenaway’s Quietude, which evokes both the dark destruction of the battlefield and the fragile but tenacious hope that rises from it.


From AU$30.00

Event Dates

Once Only Event

18 Nov 2021

Nearby Accommodation

View All
Apartment kitchen and dining area

Forrest Hotel and Apartments

Forrest, Canberra


Canberra City YHA


Premium Villa living space

Alivio Tourist Park Canberra

O'Connor, Canberra

Parklands Hotel and Apartments

Parklands Hotel and Apartments

Dickson, Canberra

Abode Kingston

Abode Kingston

Kingston, Canberra

Little National Hotel Canberra

Little National Hotel Canberra

Barton, Canberra

Contact Us