Deakin is a suburb of Canberra. It was named after Australia’s second Prime Minister Alfred Deakin. Although mostly a residential area, it is home to the official Prime Minister’s residence (The Lodge) and The Royal Australian Mint which is the sole producer of all Australia’s coins. It has the capacity to produce up to two million coins per day. The Australian Mint offers daily tours and has a cafe and shop. Entry is free.

Quick Facts

Deakin is a suburb of Canberra in Australian Capital Territory. It is located approximately 4kms from the capital Canberra covering an area of 3.571 square kilometers. Deakin has a recorded population of 2878 residents and is within the Australian Eastern Daylight Time zone Australia/Sydney.

If you are planning a visit to Deakin we’ve put together some of the things nearby that you can see or do while you are here. These include, places to stay, tours and attractions, some upcoming events and places where you can grab a meal. Go ahead, try one of the buttons above. Every destination has something worth seeing so start exploring… If you know Deakin and think we’ve missed something, let us know and we’ll share it here.

Nearby Accommodation

View All

Jamala Wildlife Lodge

Weston Creek, Canberra

Hotel Exterior looking from the ground up towards the top floor

BreakFree Capital Tower


Pool Area at Sundown Motel Resort

Sundown Motel Resort

Symonston, Canberra


Knightsbridge Canberra

Kingston, Canberra

Foxtel TV in the guest lounge

The Pommy Tree Bed and Breakfast

Evatt, Canberra

Very modern bathroom

Alivio Tourist Park Canberra

O'Connor, Canberra