Comans Mine

Agri, Mining and Industry

Located just outside the small town of Nerrigundah, Coman’s Mine is an interesting part of the region’s goldmining history.

In the 1880s, E J (Ned) Coman mortgaged his property to finance a gold mining investment at the head of North Creek. The investment became known as Coman’s Mine. With his partner, Bloomfield, the mine was worked for a relatively brief and unsuccessful period and by 1889 was left idle, until it was officially reopened in 1938 by Radiant Mines Limited. Operations ceased at Coman’s Mine in 1950.

A walking trail takes you through this historic site. Along the track are many artefacts, including a pile of quartz rocks that marks the entrance to the mine tunnel that was originally dug by Coman and Bloomfield.

For another opportunity to experience this part of the area’s history, take a trip to the Original Goldrush Colony in Mogo.

Facilities

Carpark History & Heritage Nature & Wildlife

Rates

Free Entry

Nearby Things to Do

View All
Old Nerrigundah Settlement Trail

Old Nerrigundah Settlement Trail

Nerrigundah, Eurobodalla

Comans Mine

Comans Mine

Nerrigundah, Eurobodalla

Come and meet the artist of the day - open seven days

Artisans Nest Gallery

Bodalla, Eurobodalla

Contact Us