Officially known as ‘All Saints Anglican Church’, Gostwyck Chapel was built in 1921 in memory of Major Clive Collingwood Dangar who lost his life during World War One. The chapel was constructed entirely of bricks made and fired on Gostwyck Station. The stone wall surrounding the chapel was built to protect it from floodwaters from the nearby Salisbury Waters. The magnificent tree-lined avenue of over 200 Elms was planted by a worker who was brought out from England specifically for the task.
The site is a favourite for photographers, especially during the autumn months when the leaves of the Elm trees turn gold, providing the perfect backdrop for the Virginia Creeper covering the chapel, which changes to a brilliant red.
Visitors can park on Gostwyck Road (but not on the twin private driveways) and view the chapel which is a family memorial. You are reminded this is private property, and a working enterprise and are asked to carefully respect the privacy of Gostwyck Station, its owners and employees. No commercial photography is permitted.