The Mount Erin Heritage Centre is located at Wagga Wagga in the original Mount Erin Convent which was built 1874-76. This historic site is where five Presentation Sisters from Ireland established a convent and school in 1876. Since then several schools have existed here including St Brigid’s, St Marys, St Eugene’s, Mount Erin High School, Trinity Senior High School and presently Kildare Catholic College.
The Heritage Centre displays the history of the Presentation Sisters in the Riverina and beyond. A timeline, changes in dress, photographs and unique memorabilia show the sisters’ lifestyle over the years. A harp brought from Ireland by the pioneers, and priceless lace are among the exhibits.
The story of education is told through the history of the many schools. A collection of uniforms, items, artefacts, books and over 2,000 photographs represent many decades of school life. Many pictures of music and sport and other cultural activities over the decades create great interest.
The Mount Erin Boarding School which was opened in 1890 (and still operating today) is represented by an original bed and chair and countless photos of boarders.
Disabled AssistanceDisabled access available