The State Government is made up of the Crown, represented by the Governor, and the Parliament, consisting of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly, or Lower House, consists of 99 members elected for a maximum of four years by universal adult suffrage. The Legislative Council, or Upper House, has 42 members. The term of office of 21 members expires at each election, at which 21 members are elected.

New South Wales Government

Local government and councils vary as changes in federal government occur. Regional information on local policies is often a useful insight into a place and can reflect the goals and achievements of a community.