The historic village of Binalong is nestled in wooded hills on the Burley Griffin Way, 320 kilometres south west of Sydney and 37 kilometres north west of Yass.
Binalong is home to one of Australia’s only purpose-built Motor Museums, and Peter Minson’s beautiful glass art at Southern Cross Glass.
The town square has an old general store (now a cafe), a fountain and old style lamps. The old Cobb and Co Inn (1847) on the Yass Road is now the Black Swan Art Gallery. The Patterson Pub (1840s), is a great example of of pise and bricks.. The old two-storey courthouse dates from 1883. Adjacent is a single-storey brick policeman’s residence while the old railway station, erected in 1876 and closed in 1915, is now a private residence.