Since its construction in 1928, The Residency, on the corner of Parsons and Hartley Streets, has become a tangible symbol of the brief independence and Vice-Regal power Central Australia had from North Australia in Northern Territory history and, combined with other factors, is highly valued by the community. The building itself, an adaption to life in an arid environment, is evidence of a direct response to climatic conditions and is a unique reminder of regional government and administration that recognised differences in the Territory that are no longer apparent in an age of vastly improved communications, technology and transport. Most individuals who have been resident in the building, or who have had occasion to be official guests, have had an impact on Northern Territory history. Queen Elizabeth and the Duke of Edinburgh stayed there in March 1963.
The Residency is a single-storey building with a central masonry core of rooms constructed of hand-made sand and concrete blocks (patterned to resemble stonework), and surrounding verandah of lightweight timber framing and low verandah wall. The roof is corrugated galvanised iron. It is now a community centre.
Disabled AssistanceCaters for hearing impairment Caters for limited mobility Caters for vision impairment Wheelchair access