An Ulam marble draped column stands in a traffic island opposite Emerald’s old town hall as a permanent reminder of the local patriotism shown in WWI.
War hero Major-General Sir Thomas (Bill) Glasgow unveiled the memorial in its original location opposite the railway station on 24 January 1925. The monument, designed by Brisbane’s AL Petrie and Son, includes sculpted crossed rifles and wreaths of remembrance.
In typical Aussie egalitarian style, Emerald’s war memorial honours those who enlisted and participated, as well as those who died. Plaques around the centre list the names of 24 locals who died in the conflict. A later panel records WWII enlistments and deaths.
Local monuments like this provide a unique insight into the involvement and impact WWI had on a community. Lists of names from a locality cannot be readily drawn from the National War Memorials archives.
In recent years it has been relocated to a traffic island in Anakie Street opposite the town hall. A memorial wall dedicated to Vietnam Veterans is located behind the original memorial, and a modern War Memorial Fountain commemorates Australian servicemen and women who have served in all wars and conflicts.
Disabled AssistanceDisabled access available