The Mary River has been known by many names, with the Aborigines calling the river Booie, Moonaboola, Numabulla or Mooraboocoola. It was named the Wide Bay River until September 1848, when Governor Fitzroy renamed the river in honour of his wife, Lady Mary Fitzroy.
The Mary River is unique in that it flows from south to north with its headwaters near the Sunshine Coast hinterland and its mouth at River Heads just south of Hervey Bay.
Maryborough is also home to the stunning Mary River Parklands which is built on the site of the original Port of Maryborough and forms part of the Portside Precinct. Parkland surrounding the river offers natural terracing, community forecourt, public art works, winding pathways and gardens.
ActivitiesBirdwatching Boating Fishing Sailing