The University of Queensland

Galleries, Museums and Collections

The University of Queensland (UQ) is a public university located in state of Queensland of Australia. Founded in 1909, it is the oldest and largest university in Queensland and the fifth oldest in Australia. The main campus is located in the suburb of St Lucia, southwest of the Brisbane City Central Business District. The University of Queensland is a member of the Australia’s Group of Eight, and the international research-intensive universities network Universitas 21. UQ is colloquially known as a “sandstone university” and is ranked among the top universities in Australia and the top one per cent in the world.

The 114-hectare St Lucia Campus features gardens, public walkways, bike tracks and three large lakes. This creates a beautiful environment for visitors and attracts dozens of bird species and native wildlife such as possums and brush turkeys.

The university also plays host to a number of museums, including The James and Mary Emelia Mayne Centre Art Museum. Today, with more than 3,000 artworks, the University’s Art Collection is Queensland’s second largest public art collection.


Cafe Carpark Conference/Convention Facilities Picnic Area Public Toilet


Birdwatching Cycling Swimming

Disabled Assistance

Disabled access available


Free Entry

Nearby Things to Do

View All

Bellthorpe Rainforest Tour – Brisbane Nature Tours


QUT Art Museum

QUT Art Museum



Kangaroos, Mangroves and the Ocean – Brisbane Nature Tours


Queen Adelaide Building

Queen Adelaide Building


Materia Medica

UQ Marks-Hirschfeld Museum of Medical History

Herston, Brisbane

MV Neptune

River City Cruises

South Brisbane, Brisbane