The Barossa Manor is a landmark of South Australia. Its iconic architecture follows the Victorian Neoclassical period.
The three Flemish gables on the main facade have decorative trim and an equilateral triangle which was used in the ancient Greek civilizations as the delta glyph and is symbolic of a doorway. The thought was that the combination of polarities would provide a new opening. The hand-forged iron entrance gate was crafted to mirror the central gable of the Barossa Manor. Flemish gables were a notable feature of the Renaissance architecture, which spread to northern Europe arriving in Britain during the latter part of the 16th century. Later Flemish gables with flowing curves became absorbed into early South Australian architecture, such as the Quorn Railway station, which first opened in 1879.
The elaborate semicircle leading to the entrance gate symbolizes the rays of the rising sun. During midsummer the morning sun is aligned with the main entrance gate forming one geometrical line towards the front of the Barossa Manor. The plan of semicircle was based on the work of William Light, who designed Adelaide’s characteristic geometrical shapes, pattern and parks. It was “Light’s vision” to create an urban form which complemented nature, done with conscious purpose.
The Barossa Manor is located adjacent to the Barossa Col Light Monument and can be photographed during 7 days a week.
Disabled AssistanceWheelchair access
MembershipRegional Tourist/Tourism Association/Organisation Visitor Information Centre