Glenelg Jetty

Landmarks and Buildings

The first Glenelg Jetty was 381 metres long with a T-head and wooden lighthouse. This section was destroyed by fire in 1873. In 1906 a three-storey pavilion was added at the end of the jetty and railway tracks were laid along its length to service coastal shipping. The aquarium was built in 1929, showcasing fish, sea lions and sharks. In 1948 a major storm swept through Holdfast Bay, destroying the jetty and leaving just the pavilion and aquarium, they were later removed. In 1969 the current, much shorter, jetty was constructed.

Glenelg is Adelaide’s favourite seaside destination set on the long sandy white beaches of Holdfast Bay. Only 20 minutes from the city and five minutes from Adelaide Airport, Glenelg is a fabulous place to relax, explore and experience Adelaide at its best. It’s renowned for its wide beach, stunning sunsets, rich heritage, charming hotels and bustling shops, sidewalk cafes and loads of entertainment.

Facilities

Disabled access available Family Family Friendly Public Toilet

Rates

Free Entry

Nearby Things to Do

View All
Auction Room 3

du Plessis Auctions – The ‘Intriguing Collections’ Fine Art & Decor Auction

Mile End South, West Torrens

Royal Adelaide's Clubhouse and unique train

Royal Adelaide Golf Club

Seaton, Charles Sturt

Living Kaurna Cultural Centre

Living Kaurna Cultural Centre

Bedford Park, Mitcham

Showcasing corporate buses of Des's Minibus in Bonython Park. A 7, 13 and 21 seat bus are shown.

Des’s Minibus

Hindmarsh, Charles Sturt

Fashion on King William Road

King William Road

Hyde Park, Unley

Royal Adelaide Golf Club

Golf Explorer

Glenelg, Holdfast Bay

Contact Us