Old Wisanger School

Historical Sites and Heritage Locations

The Old Wisanger School was opened in 1884.

Wisanger School was typical, built by local farmers as the Wisanger Farmers Assembly Room in 1884, and leased to the Education Department, this simple small building served as a focus of the district’s social life until the 1970s and gave the longest continuous service of any of the schools, until 1945.

The National Trust manage the old Wisanger School building on behalf of Council. Visitors can walk through the building and view photos and old test books in their original setting.

Rates

Free Entry

Nearby Things to Do

View All
Koala Adventure Tours

Koala Adventure Tours

Kingscote, Kangaroo Island

Cygnet River

Cygnet River

Cygnet River, Kangaroo Island

Stokes Bay

Stokes Bay Beach

Cassini, Kangaroo Island

Wright Park Playground

Wright Park Playground

Kingscote, Kangaroo Island

kangaroo

Beyeria Walk

Haines, Kangaroo Island

Old Wisanger School

Old Wisanger School

Wisanger, Kangaroo Island

Contact Us