The Scholz Park Museum complex which was built between 1869 and 1872 incorporates a blacksmiths shop, wheelwrights shop and the Scholz family cottage.
The heritage listed museum is unique in that everything, the buildings, contents, tools and equipment are in the original location and as they were used at the time. It is, so to speak, a living snapshot of life in the early 1900’s. The Scholz family contributed a great deal to the growth and development of Riverton and the surrounding districts and the museum serves as an icon and monument to what they did.
The blacksmiths shop incorporates three working forges which are usually fired up once a month for demonstrations and training.
Disabled AssistanceCaters for challenges with learning and communication Caters for limited mobility Caters for vision impairment Wheelchair access
MembershipNational Trust Tourism Industry Council of SA Visitor Information Centre
We have a small nominal entry fee of $3 which contributes to the maintenance of the museum. There are also souvenirs for sale and we are more than happy to accept donations outside of the entry fee.