St George’s Church, Magill Self-Guided Cemetery Tours
Things To Do Magill, Campbelltown, South Australia
St. George’s Church was built on land given by Captain John Finlay Duff in 1847. It was the first Church of England to be consecrated in the Colony, by Augustus Short, first Bishop of Adelaide on 30th January, 1848. This early work still survives in the attractive exterior of the old front section of the Church.
Pamphlets for a Self-Guided Cemetery Tour can be found in the holders on the Cemetery Entrance Board, located by the main brick pathway to the right of the Church. Its first burial on 16th February, 1848 was Bishop Short’s 12 month old daughter Caroline Phillipa Augusta, just seven weeks after the family arrived in the Colony.
Come and experience a sampling of some fascinating stories including some of our early colonists with names such as Penfold, Waterhouse, Murray, Hallett, Auld, Horsnell, Jury.
Subject to availability and for a small fee, groups using the S-G Pamphlets can arrange to have volunteers available to assist with questions and provide refreshments.
Enquiries can be directed to our email.
Other information about St. George’s Church and Cemetery can be found on its website.
If you love history, then a stroll through this Cemetery is a must!
Disabled AssistanceDisabled access available