Low Head Pilot Station is a historical precinct with nine self-contained cottages, Museum, Lighthouse and café within Tasmania’s pristine Tamar Valley. These heritage convict-built cottages date back to 1825 and are each unique in story, size and charm. Each cottage is equipped with its own modern Kitchen and Bathroom facilities, living area, garden and barbeque. Located on National Park grounds at the mouth of the Tamar River.
It’s the oldest and longest active Pilot Station in Australia, dating back to 1805 and is still active today. Venture up to gaze at Low Head Lighthouse, the third Lighthouse built in Australia (1833) and look out over the sparkling Bass Strait – or book our LightKeeper’s Cottage next to the Lighthouse. Discover the history of Low Head Pilot Station at the Maritime Museum, stay with us and become part of its story.
Our Queenslander is encircled by a grand veranda, from which you can see the Bass Strait, the Tamar River, the Lighthouse and overlook the Low Head Penguin Reserve.
The Light Keeper’s Cottage sits beside the Lighthouse and has spectacular views of the Bass Strait.
The Schoolhouse has its own unique sunny charms and is just meters away from the shores of Pilots Bay. Nextdoor perched by the water’s edge is the Pilots cottage; the master bedroom features impressive Tamar River views and ensuite bathroom.
MembershipAustralian Tourism Export Council
Each cottage is unique in size, layout and location.
Check In: 2:00 pm
Check Out: 10:00 am