The Avoca Museum and Information Centre (AMIC) in the 106 year old heritage listed building promotes the beautiful Fingal Valley region.
The old Avoca State School opened in 1908 at a cost of 348 pounds, and in 1929 73 pupils were enrolled. Prime Minister Joe Lyons visited the school in 1936, the year the wireless set and electric power were installed. The CWA used the old building when a new school was built in 1951. The building suffered years of neglect until in 2010 Greater Esk Tourism successfully obtained $193,000 from the Urban Renewal and Heritage Fund, TCF, FRRR, Arts Tasmania and other bodies to fund the restoration, with volunteers completing the work prior to opening on Australia Day 2012.
The AMIC Committee restored the Cenotaph and recommenced Anzac Day services in 2013. New gym equipment, picnic tables and soldiers’ memorial trees have enhanced Boucher Park.
AMIC includes the old school atmosphere, a current ‘Sporting History of the Avoca District’ exhibition, visitor information and local craft sales. The Fingal Valley has stunning scenery, mountain climbs, bush walks, waterfalls and the world’s tallest white gums at Evercreech Forest Reserve. Turn off the main Esk Highway and explore our ‘Valleys of Adventure’
Barbeque Carpark Coach Parking Disabled access available Free Wifi History & Heritage Picnic Area Public Toilet Visitor Information Centre