East Coast Heritage Museum

Galleries, Museums and Collections

The East Coast Heritage Museum is situated in picturesque Swansea on Tasmania’s east coast. Located in the main street of this seaside town the museum incorporates a War Memorial and the Glamorgan Spring Bay Historical Society Inc. The heritage-listed whitewashed building has a commanding view of the Freycinet Peninsula.
The old section of the building was once a schoolhouse and teacher’s residence, built-in 1860 from stone and rubble used in the Waterloo Point Military Station. The renovated building, a new gallery opened in December 2011.
The museum’s policy is to exhibit and preserve artefacts from the Glamorgan and Spring Bay Municipality for the community, visitors and future generations. The collection of over 5000 items includes an 1880 Historic Fiddleback Blackwood Billiard Table, Thomas Bock’s drawings of George and Mary Meredith, Louisa Anne Meredith’s books and costumes, honour rolls, war medals, convict relics and much more.
Admission is by gold coin donation.
Open 5 days a week 10 am – 4 pm
(Closed Saturday, Sunday, Christmas Day & Good Friday)
Will open weekends by appointment only.

Facilities

Carpark Family Friendly Free Wifi Gallery / Museum Non Smoking Public Toilet

Activities

Walks

Disabled Assistance

Wheelchair access

Membership

Australian Museums and Galleries Association

Accreditation

COVID Clean Practicing Business COVID Safe National Trust

Nearby Things to Do

View All
Spiky Bridge

Spiky Bridge

Swansea, Glamorgan/Spring Bay

External review of East Coast Heritage Museum

East Coast Heritage Museum

Swansea, Glamorgan/Spring Bay

Kate’s Berry Farm

Swansea, Glamorgan/Spring Bay

Swansea Cycle Tours and Bike Hire at Milton vineyard

Swansea Cycle Tours and Bike Hire

Swansea, Glamorgan/Spring Bay

Contact Us