Each Sunday at noon, come and hear “the magnificent roar of a thousand elephants” echo through the Low Head area and beyond.
The Low Head Foghorn, at the mouth of the Tamar River, is a unique piece of Tasmania’s maritime history.
The Foghorn was installed in 1929 and decommissioned in 1973. It was restored in early 2000 by a group of volunteers. It is the only operational G-type diaphone in the world. The building also houses a very rare Gardner model 2 DCR kerosene engine.
Under ideal conditions the Foghorn can be heard approximately 30 kilometres out to sea.
Hearing protection is recommended.
Enjoy the beautiful sea views from the headland and feel free to have a chat with the volunteers in attendance every Sunday at noon. At other times, use the QR codes on the signage to experience this unique attraction.
The associated Lighthouse was built in 1888, replacing the original 1833 convict-built structure. With an elevation of 43 metres, it dominates the headland.
Nearby, is the Low Head Pilot Station, commencing in 1805, it continues to provide pilotage for visiting ships.
You can visit the Maritime Museum and a have a light meal at the Coxswain’s Cafe.
Carpark Caters for hearing impairment Caters for limited mobility Caters for vision impairment History & Heritage Visitor Information Centre Walk Wheelchair access