Built in 1755, Cooks’ Cottage is the oldest building in Australia and a popular Melbourne tourist attraction.
Originally located in Yorkshire, England, and built by the parents of Captain James Cook, the cottage was brought to Melbourne by Sir Russell Grimwade in 1934. Astonishingly, each brick was individually numbered, packed into barrels and then shipped to Australia.
Combining modern interpretations of Captain Cook’s adventures, centuries-old antiques, a delightful English cottage garden, volunteers dressed in 18th century costumes and a new interpretive space in the stable, Cooks’ Cottage is a fascinating step back in time.
Entry to the cottage includes a comprehensive fact sheet for a self-guided tour. Available in English, Cantonese, Mandarin, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Thai, Indonesian, Japanese, German, French and Korean.
School tours and group tours and visits are also available.
Tickets and souvenirs can be purchased from the Fitzroy Gardens Visitor Centre, just 100 metres away.
Birdwatching Cafe Coach Parking Disabled access available Family Friendly Free Wifi History & Heritage Interactive Centre Nature & Wildlife Non Smoking Public Toilet Regional Tourist/Tourism Association/Organisation Walk
Adult $6.70, Children (Five to 15) $3.60, Concession $5.10, Family (Two adults, two children) $18.50