An easy drive north-east of Dalby is the small town of Jimbour, that is also the location of the historic heritage-listed Jimbour House, built in 1876.
Visitors are welcome to tour the grounds and magnificent gardens which are open daily for a donation upon entry. The garden entry donation includes access to the “Living History Walk” – an experience of historical plaques, sights and sounds that bring a rich and colourful heritage to life. The grounds and Chapel (circa 1868) provide a stunning setting for weddings and the venue also caters for a wide range of functions and corporate events.
In its early days Jimbour was one of the great properties of the Darling Downs, stretching over 300,000 acres from the Bunya Mountains to the Condamine River and from the present site of Dalby to Jandowae.
As the Northern outpost of European settlement, Jimbour also holds a special place in Queensland and Australian history. It was the property from which Ludwig Leichhardt commenced his famous trek across western Queensland to eventually arrive at Port Essington in the Northern Territory.