The Monsignor Hawes Chapel of St Hyacinth is a charming historical building which was designed and built by Monsignor John Hawes in 1919. When driving around Yalgoo you can’t miss the little church which has a stark white wooden bell tower standing out in contrast to the small red stoned chapel.
Examine the extraordinary external architecture of the church. Gain an appreciation of the harsh remoteness endured by the Dominican Sisters who lived in a wooden convent school near the chapel.
The Chapel of St Hyacinth forms part of the Monsignor John Hawes Heritage Trail, which is a self-drive 4 day tour including 15 houses of worship created by Monsignor Hawes. As well as a stop in Yalgoo, the tour visits Mullewa, Morawa, and Geraldton. Take time to appreciate the varying designs this talented craftsman used to compliment the surrounding landscapes where each church was located.
Yalgoo is a 6.5 hour drive north of Perth and is especially popular for wildflower spotting.
To access the building, contact the Shire of Yalgoo 9962 8042 to obtain a key.
MembershipVisitor Information Centre
AUD3 – Concession
AUD5 – Adult