St John’s Schoolhouse was Canberra’s first school and school master’s residence. It opened in 1845, to provide an elementary education for children from the Campbell estate of Duntroon and surrounding farms. Many family names of former pupils can be seen on gravestones in St John’s Churchyard.
In 1907 the School was closed, and for many years the building was scheduled for demolition. Fortunately the significance of the building and its history were recognised, and in 1969 the restored Schoolhouse re-opened as a museum of Canberra’s early history and education. In 2019 we are proud to celebrate 50 years as one of Canberra’s first museums.
The Schoolhouse enables visitors to imagine the different scene of rural Canberra, before it became the Federal Capital. Sit at an old desk, write on a slate, or play old -fashioned games. See the fascinating early photographs of the Limestone Plains.
School and other tours are welcome by arrangement, for a small fee per head.
Disabled AssistanceDisabled access available
A gold coin donation on entry is requested. For school and other tours- which must be booked- a small amount is charged per head.
Our Museum is staffed by volunteers, and entry money received assists in the maintenance and upkeep of this historic building.