Explore The Australian Capital Territory with our interactive map. The ACT is a territory located within the state of New South Wales and is a single region simply referred to as ‘Canberra and surrounds’. Click on the Map below to visit the region. We have included a New South Wales outline to give you give you an idea of where it is located in the state. If you want to see more maps use the navigation panel on the right hand side of this page to view other State and territory Maps of Australia.