West Daly


The West Daly area is administered by the West Daly Regional Council. located in the north-western section of the Northern Territory, between 300 and 420 kilometres south-west of the Darwin. The western side of this area is bounded by the Timor Sea. Much of the area is inaccessible by road in the wet season from late November to May.

The West Daly population is largely Aboriginal and is home to a number of outstations and three small indigenous communities at Palumpa (Nganmarriyanga), Peppimenarti (Peppi) and Wadeye (Port Keats). This region is Aboriginal freehold land held by the Daly River/Port Keats Aboriginal Land Trust. Permits are required to enter the area.

Quick Facts

The West Daly area is a local government area (LGA) in Northern Territory. This area is home to 5 locations and/or suburbs which you can explore in more detail by selecting from the list  below. The West Daly area is located approximately 225kms from the capital Darwin.

If you are planning a visit to this area we’ve put together some of the things you can see or do while you are here. These include, places to stay, tours and attractions, some upcoming events and places where you can grab a meal. Go ahead, try one ofthe buttons above. Every destination has something worth seeing so start exploring… If you know the area and think we’ve missed something, let us know and we’ll share it here.

West Daly

Area Regional Council



Population: 390 | West Daly



Population: 2280 | West Daly



Population: 131 | West Daly



Population: 178 | West Daly



Population: 197 | West Daly