The Gatakers Building was built for Robert Travis in 1868, it and the warehouse located behind, became a warehouse for wine and spirit merchants, Graham and Gataker in 1885. In 1906, John Graham retired and Charles Gataker took his sons aboard and the business became Gataker and Sons.
After the building was vacated in 2007, it was purchased by Council who undertook extensive renovations to convert the back building into a multi-purpose arts facility. Gatakers Artspace opened in March 2010.
To compliment the Artspace, restoration works were completed in May 2022 to restore the front building into a modern creative space. This double-storey building offers life drawing, print making, ceramics, workshops, pop-up exhibitions and a artisans retail store. This new space offers local artists an opportunity to develop their ideas and participate in a myriad of creative activities.
Another exciting element is the installation of an early 1869 No.5 iron planten hand printing letter press. Imported into Australia in the 1800’s, this press provides a printing experience for wood block, soft carve and lino block printing.
Internet AccessFree Wifi
Disabled AssistanceDisabled access available