Low Head Lighthouse

Landmarks and Buildings

The first lighthouse at Low Head was established in 1833, the second to be lit in Tasmania.

Constructed of stone, it was 15.3 metres high and the light consisted of a large number of metal surfaces each with its own oil lamp. A clockwork mechanism provided the means for rotating the light. The lightkeeper’s four-room living quarters were located at the base of the tower.

By 1888 the original tower had fallen into disrepair and a new tower 21 metres high was constructed of brick.

This is the tower you see today.
In 1916 a kerosene mantle burner was installed and the character of the light was altered from single flashing to triple flashing. This remains the current signal.

In 1941 electric power was extended to the station and the lighthouse apparatus was converted to an electric lamp in place of the kerosene mantle burner. An electric motor was installed to rotate the lens in place of the weight-driven clockwork mechanism.

Today the lighthouse continues to project its 3-flash signal every 30 seconds up to 43 kilometres out to sea.

At 133 years of age, the Low Head Lighthouse stands as a fabulous testament to our unique maritime history.

Facilities

Carpark Family Friendly Gallery / Museum Interpretive Centre

Disabled Assistance

Disabled access available

Membership

Visitor Information Centre

Rates

Free Entry

Nearby Things to Do

View All
One view of the Water Tank Mural

George Town Water Tower Mural

George Town

Sculptured Gallery

Clarence Point, West Tamar

Rotary Clock Gear Face

George Town Rotary Clock

George Town

In 1798, George Bass and Matthew Flinders sailed the sloop Norfolk from Sydney to solve a riddle ?

Bass & Flinders Maritime Museum

George Town

Painted Public Toilet

Pretty painted Pelican public toilet mural- George Town

George Town

George Town Community/RSL War Memorial obelisk

The War Memorial Obelisk

George Town

Contact Us