On the picturesque Low Head Peninsula at the mouth of the Tamar River is Australia’s oldest pilot station, dating from 1806. It is a delightful collection of cottages in a beautiful setting. The Museum occupies the 1835 convict-built Pilots’ Row, the oldest and largest building on the site. It tells stories of shipping on the Tamar River and has an extensive display of relics from the days of sail and steam.
The museum is well-suited for families, having something of interest for people of all ages. Children are encouraged to handle the ship’s helm, operate the engine room telegraphs, sound the foghorn, ring the ship’s bell and send messages in Morse Code. There are other exhibits around the grounds.
Continue to the headland, past the old cable station to Australia’s third oldest light station, with its grand lighthouse. Here is the only operating G-type foghorn in the Southern Hemisphere. Also at this site is a Marine Education Centre and a collection of small craft. The foghorn sounds at noon each Sunday with the displays open 11.30am until 12.30pm and to pre-arranged tours and school groups at other times
Low Head has good accommodation facilities, great beaches and is less than an hour from Launceston along the East Tamar Highway and only five kilometers from George Town.
Disabled AssistanceDisabled access available
MembershipAustralian Museums and Galleries Association
Concession $4 Children $3 Family $15 Tour Groups $3 per passenger School Groups $1 per student